The Girl He Used to Know – Tracey Garvis Graves

Title: The Girl He Used to Know

Author: Tracey Garvis Graves

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Genre: Contemporary Fiction/Romance

Page Length: 291 pages

Due to the pandemic, I haven’t ventured into a library in some time. As my membership was about to lapse, I quickly checked out this book. It’s a book I had added to my Goodreads to read menu, but had no recollection as to why.

So I started reading it, not sure where this story would take me. I have never read or heard of Graves, so this was uncharted territory. I was in for a personal journey that kept me turning the page. I saw a loved one reflected back at me in every word and action or lack of action.

If you have a loved one on the high functioning autism spectrum, I feel that this story will hit home. And it might just help you understand them a little bit better. It may illuminate some questions you may have had and never asked. But this story is much more than a book about a girl with a social disorder. It’s also a love story of when a boy loves a girl and how life can get in the way of our hearts. I loved this story and I loved Annika and all her quirks, but most of all I loved Jonathan because he saw the beauty inside her that many couldn’t see.

You can find the book on Amazon in multiple formats.

Synopsis: What if you had a second chance at first love?

Annika Rose likes being alone.
She feels lost in social situations, saying the wrong thing or acting the wrong way. She just can’t read people. She prefers the quiet solitude of books or playing chess to being around others. Apart from Jonathan. She liked being around him, but she hasn’t seen him for ten years. Until now that is. And she’s not sure he’ll want to see her again after what happened all those years ago.

Annika Rose likes being alone.
Except that, actually, she doesn’t like being alone at all.

The Girl He Used to Know is an uplifting novel full of surprising revelations that keep you turning the page. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Gail Honeyman, Jill Santopolo and Sliding Doors.

OWL Rating:

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is fotolia_35398750_xs-e1621128448903.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is fotolia_35398750_xs-e1621128448903.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is fotolia_35398750_xs-e1621128448903.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is fotolia_35398750_xs-e1621128448903.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is fotolia_35398750_xs-e1621128448903.jpg

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.