Modern Fairytale Series (Books 1-3) – Holly Black

Title: Tithe; Valiant; Ironside (Books # 1-3 of the Modern Fairytale Series)
Author: Holly Black
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Urban Fantasy

Continuing my Holly Black kick, I breezed through this series in a week. It is part of her earlier work and that fact is a bit obvious, but it still was well done.

I thoroughly enjoyed Tithe and Ironside (Book 1 and 3). Whereas, I struggled a bit more with Valiant (Book 2). I think one reason is Book 1 and 3 focus on Kaye, a pixie changeling who I have grown rather attached to. Book 2, brought in all new characters and love interests and I never got into the whole homeless, drug addled storyline. It just did not click for me. Maybe because it was more urban fantasy than traditional fantasy? Not sure, it just didn’t hook me as hard as the others. Overall though, I enjoyed all the stories, some just a littleĀ  more than others.

Looking for an awesome fantasy adventure that takes you on a dark and twisty ride? Then look no further, for Black is your Queen of Faerie.

You can find them on Amazon in multiple formats.


Tithe: Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms – a struggle that could very well mean her death.

Valiant: When seventeen-year-old Valerie runs away to New York City, she’s trying to escape a life that has utterly betrayed her. Sporting a new identity, she takes up with a gang of squatters who live in the city’s labyrinthine subway system.

But there’s something eerily beguiling about Val’s new friends. And when one talks Val into tracking down the lair of a mysterious creature with whom they are all involved, Val finds herself torn between her newfound affection for an honorable monster and her fear of what her new friends are becoming.

Ironside: In the realm of Faerie, the time has come for Roiben’s coronation. Uneasy in the midst of the malevolent Unseelie Court, pixie Kaye is sure of only one thing — her love for Roiben. But when Kaye, drunk on faerie wine, declares herself to Roiben, he sends her on a seemingly impossible quest. Now Kaye can’t see or speak to Roiben unless she can find the one thing she knows doesn’t exist: a faerie who can tell a lie.

Miserable and convinced she belongs nowhere, Kaye decides to tell her mother the truth — that she is a changeling left in place of the human daughter stolen long ago. Her mother’s shock and horror sends Kaye back to the world of Faerie to find her human counterpart and return her to Ironside. But once back in the faerie courts, Kaye finds herself a pawn in the games of Silarial, queen of the Seelie Court. Silarial wants Roiben’s throne, and she will use Kaye, and any means necessary, to get it. In this game of wits and weapons, can a pixie outplay a queen?

Holly Black spins a seductive tale at once achingly real and chillingly enchanted, set in a dangerous world where pleasure mingles with pain and nothing is exactly as it appears.

OWL Rating:


This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: