The Caller (Shadowfell #3) – Juliet Marillier

Title: The Caller (Shadowfell #3)
Author: Juliet Marillier
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult

The Caller is the final conclusion to the Shadowfell series. Within its pages we fight alongside Neryn, as she summons the courage to battle tyranny and violence to bring a better world into existence.

The finale was just as good as the previous two books. Readers get what they want — a bit of magic, a bit of love and an ending that satisfies the journey readers have been on.

Marillier is an excellent storyteller that understands relationship building and patience, as well as magical world-building. Her stories often combine folklore twists with a romantic edge.

Her protagonists are always likeable, though a bit familiar. I always come back to her in the end, because no one does the fae world like Marillier.

If you are interested in reading more, check the book out on Amazon.

Synopsis: In the final book in this gripping, romantic fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Shannon Hale, the band of rebels reach their climactic confrontation with the king.

Just one year ago, Neryn had nothing but a canny skill she barely understood and a faint dream that the legendary rebel base of Shadowfell might be real. Now she is the rebels’ secret weapon, and their greatest hope for survival in the fast-approaching ambush of King Keldec at Summerfort.

The fate of Alban itself is in her hands. But confidence is stretching thinner by the day when word of another Caller reaches the rebels: a Caller at Keldec’s side with all of Neryn’s power and none of her benevolence or hard-earned control. As the days before the battle drop quickly away, Neryn must find a way to uncover—and exploit—her opponent’s weaknesses. At stake lies freedom for the people of Alban, a life free from hiding for the Good Folk—and a chance for Flint and Neryn to finally be together.

OWL Rating:

 

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: