Dead Over Heels – Theresa Braun – Novelette

33115353I seem to be reading crime/horror more and more these days. In truth, I never thought that I would enjoy the crime/horror genre. But whenever I get asked to read a new genre, I like to take a chance. I wonder, will I be surprised and enjoy something outside my comfort zone? Due to taking those chances, I now can say that I do like the crime/horror genre, which was a shock to me. In the end, it’s all about the quality of the story.

I should state that Dead Over Heels is not really horror, it’s more paranormal with a pinch of violence. I had no idea where this story would lead me. It started off innocent and sweet. However, as the story unraveled I was hooked with each page turn. This was a nicely crafted novelette. And yet, it was full bodied in its shortness. Braun is a good writer, I was drawn in for the ride and never saw the twists coming. It was a fulfilling read. I was left feeling I had read an entire novel (in a good way). I didn’t feel like I was missing anything. I highly recommend readers take a chance on this tale. If you don’t mind a little domestic drama, this will pleasantly surprise you.

You can find the story in Kindle format on Amazon for $3.99.

Synopsis: Veronica’s first date with Sebastian not only stirs up a powerful attraction, but also a series of supernatural events that will tear them apart.

After countless hours of dead end online dating, Veronica meets up with Sebastian at a reportedly haunted restaurant, since he knows she has a fascination with the paranormal. While enjoying their meals and each other’s company, they share a shocking supernatural experience. Their romantic connection is overshadowed by the ghosts of their own pasts that threaten to destroy their budding relationship. Veronica decides she must return to the restaurant to face her past and dig up more answers. Unfortunately, she realizes she must go back, this time with a reluctant Sebastian. In the end, they join forces against the evil that stands between them, but will they make it out alive?

THE GIRL BEHIND THE STORY:

16508830_1164735616909490_414877931341401351_nTheresa Braun was born in St. Paul, Minnesota and has carried some of that hardiness with her to South Florida where she currently resides with her two fur babies, who are her creative sidekicks. She enjoys delving into creative writing, painting, photography and even bouts of ghost hunting. Traveling is one of her passions—in fact, her latest adventure took her to Romania for a horror writers’ workshop where she followed in the steps of Vlad the Impaler. She writes horror fiction and the occasional romance. Oh, and she likes to guest blog about writing, television shows, movies, and books, mostly in the horror genre. Her short story “Shout at the Devil” appears in Under the Bed Magazine, “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” in Hindered Souls, and “Dead over Heels” is soon to be published by Frith Books.

 
 

CONNECT WITH THERESA

Website

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

*I received a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

