The Chemist – Stephenie Meyer

31176886I loved Twilight before it was mainstream, and then quickly began to hate it because I couldn’t get away from it. Now forever, the faces of Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson will be burned into my brain. Her standalone, The Host was just as excellent, but better because we weren’t drowned in it.

I didn’t realize Meyer was even working on another book, but while reading the paper the other day I saw her name come up. It was a good review of her newest tale and inspired me to pick this book up.

I wish I could glow about this story, but it had one major bump. I couldn’t get into the love story that existed between a couple of the main characters. This story would have appealed to my tastes, if it had revolved more around the action and less on the cuddling in the bed sheets. Meyer is a romance writer. No matter what genre she is writing in, there is always the heavy thread of love, but I feel she missed her mark with this one. The romance didn’t make my heart flutter, so I have a hard time believing it made the characters swoon.

If you take the intense, but deflated romance out of the way, the story is good. Unfortunately, the story revolves around the meh romance storyline. It was still easy and fast paced, and I was able to whip through the book pretty quickly, but I have to say this lacks any reread quality for me. Overall, the main characters had tons of potential and I liked the story concept, just wish things were arranged differently.

You can find the book on Amazon in Kindle format for $14.99 and in hardcover for $17.13.

Synopsis: She used to work for the U.S. government, but very few people ever knew that. An expert in her field, she was one of the darkest secrets of an agency so clandestine it doesn’t even have a name. And when they decided she was a liability, they came for her without warning.

Now she rarely stays in the same place or uses the same name for long. They’ve killed the only other person she trusted, but something she knows still poses a threat. They want her dead, and soon.

When her former handler offers her a way out, she realises it’s her only chance to erase the giant target on her back. But it means taking one last job for her ex-employers. To her horror, the information she acquires only makes her situation more dangerous.

Resolving to meet the threat head-on, she prepares for the toughest fight of her life but finds herself falling for a man who can only complicate her likelihood of survival. As she sees her choices being rapidly whittled down, she must apply her unique talents in ways she never dreamed of.

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

