Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

29056083I can’t say I was excited about this. I haven’t read a play since high school, and it just felt wrong to have a Harry Potter story in play format. However, while standing in line at the grocery store, I saw the book proudly on display and I couldn’t stop myself from adding it to the grocery que.

I’m a Harry Potter fan, but not a crying, pulling my hair out fan. I loved the stories growing up and routinely will have Harry Potter movie marathons.

I’ll admit, I whipped through it that weekend. It was quick and it was simple. To me, it was a mini side story of a father and son relationship that was clearly troubled. Harry isn’t winning any awards for best dad of the year.

It was good, it was okay. I have no desire to read it again. It paled in comparison to the original series. But if you look at it as a mini story I can go with it. A one time read and it’s worth it. Re-read value is zero and I say that only because it was so simple. Another read wouldn’t be worth it. There is nothing left to discover once read.

If you expect this story to be like the other seven, then I am afraid you are setting yourself up for disappointment. However, if you like side stories/quests and play script does not offend you, then you probably will enjoy the ride.

You can find the book on Amazon for 17.98 in hardcover or for 14.99 in Kindle format.

Synopsis: Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background+ 1/2

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

