Escape From Witchwood Hollow – Jordan Elizabeth Mierek

23351890I love reading stories written by local(ish) authors. Reading local, fills me with a feeling that I am supporting my community and somehow always makes me feel more in-tune with the writer. I always want to just throw a 5 OWL review at them and let it be. But local or not, each book is unique and no author is like another.

What I liked about this tale was the various story-lines of the multiple characters and how they were woven together in such a seamless way. In the beginning, I was not sure where the story was going. However, as you read you become more aware of the significance of each main character and why each has their own voice and segment. Mierek is a good writer and I believe has a promising future as an author. Additionally, having been a student in high school at the time of 9/11, I can relate to the time-frame in which her story takes place. It is also, the first story I’ve read that includes this tragedy within its structure.

While I appreciate the quality of the story and writing, I took awhile to read it. And was often stopping to pick something else up. Not because the book was slow or didn’t have a strong story to tell, but because I had a rather hard time relating to the (overall) main character, Honoria. I found her unpleasant. She was a tad snotty, kind of cranky, and overall not very agreeable. I understand the circumstances for why Honoria may not be the most cheerful person, but it seemed to just be her innate personality I just didn’t connect with. As a result, I had a hard time ploughing through.

Aside from my issue with Honoria, I can truthfully say, this story has good bones and will definitely appeal to many. Unfortunately, for me I had a hard time moving past the character.

If you are interested in witches and historical settings, I think this story will appeal to you. The story definitely holds some surprises and it’s nicely paced to keep you moving along. You can find the book on Amazon for $4.99 or in paperback for $14.99.

 

Synopsis: Everyone in Arnn – a small farming town with more legends than residents – knows the story of Witchwood Hollow: if you venture into the whispering forest, the witch will trap your soul among the shadowed trees.

After losing her parents in a horrific terrorist attack on the Twin Towers, fifteen-year-old Honoria and her older brother escape New York City to Arnn. In the lure of that perpetual darkness, Honoria finds hope, when she should be afraid.

Perhaps the witch can reunite her with her lost parents. Awakening the witch, however, brings more than salvation from mourning, for Honoria discovers a past of missing children and broken promises.

To save the citizens of Arnn from becoming the witch’s next victims, she must find the truth behind the woman’s madness.

How deep into Witchwood Hollow does Honoria dare venture?

 

THE GIRL BEHIND THE BOOK:

1006997Jordan Elizabeth, formally Jordan Elizabeth Mierek, writes down her nightmares in order to live her dreams. With an eclectic job history behind her, she is now diving into the world of author. It happens to be her most favorite one yet. When she’s not creating art or searching for lost history in the woods, she’s updating her blog. Jordan is the president of the Utica Writers Club. She roams Central New York, but she loves to travel.

 

CONNECT WITH JORDAN

Website

Goodreads

Twitter

 

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

