Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

21532133I didn’t know what to expect when I bought this novel. All I knew is it had to do with Scotland and that’s all I cared about. I’m a self-confessed Scott-loving geek, and I wear my badge proud. You say kilt, and I say WHERE?! Bagpipes?! Music to my ears.

I still remember my first time in Scotland like it was yesterday. Venturing out of the underground train tunnel, into the old town portion of the city of Edinburgh, I heard the sound of pipes whispering through the air. I honestly thought I was hallucinating the music. But no, for sure as I continued meandering through the crowds, slightly lost and unsure of where I was going, I stumbled upon a man playing his pipes. Dressed in the cultural kilt attire, I was beaming with happiness at this discovery. Yes, I know they are there for tourists like me, but what a wonderful sound to listen to as I traipsed all over the city.

While I fell in-love with the city, I also have a special place for the Highlands in my wee heart, where this book takes place. It brought memories back of visiting the Clan Macpherson Museum nestled in the town of Newtonmore, Scotland, and the politics that surrounded the Jacobite time period. A truly charming place, with a wonderful curate who spent a long time explaining the history of the clan to just my companion and myself. A memory I think fondly on.

This story was wonderful and truly memorable. History, mysticism and romance all tied into one. A roughly 600 page book that I flew through over the weekend. Already I am cracking the spine of the sequel, eager for more. The romance is epic and heart melting, the history is fascinating. I feel I am learning about all sorts of plant lore and English vs. Scottish politics that rampaged the land during the 1700’s. And for a girl like me, who loves a bit of fantasy, this story satisfies all my needs.

I loved it and have started watching the Starz TV adaptation, immersing myself even further into this wonderful story.

You can find the book on Amazon in Kindle for $3.99 and in paperback for $10.17.

OR for those who prefer to listen, the audio book is priced at $39.48.

Synopsis: The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon—when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord . . . 1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life . . . and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire . . . and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

 

Links of Interest:

Clan Macpherson Museum

 
 

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

