Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë

janeI don’t feel it is justifiable to review this story, but I will anyways. A classic most of us know or have at least heard about. A love that transcends status, beauty and overall empowers the female species.

At 17, I remember my first time reading this tale, I cried a ton as I internalized the strange and beautiful love story that blossoms between Jane Eyre and Edward Rochester. Ten plus years later, I still find a deep connection to the tale, but this time I connect with her struggle to empower herself in a world that would rather she stay uninspired.

I’ve watched every made for TV movie and major motion picture that has been created based on this novel. Some capture the true essence of the characters better than others, but I watch them all and find even the versions I don’t like continue to draw me in time and again.

If you like classic literature, or if you just enjoy strong female characters with heart stopping moments, give it a chance. This story is as relevant as it was when it was first written in the 1800’s.

There are many different versions from ebooks to hard copy. Find a version that speaks to you.

 

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

