Ice Country – David Estes

icecountryI was excited to continue The Country Saga’s adventure in book 2 of the series. Fire Country was the first, which I previously reviewed and loved. I had hoped I would love the world of ice just as much.

The aspect I enjoyed most about this story was the protagonist’s love for his family and friends. He was truly a loyal character, which balanced his flaws of being an impetuous, hot-tempered youth.

Estes brought old characters back too. Characters, I was not ready to say good-bye to in Fire Country. While they were not the main characters in this book, they played solid supporting roles and we were able to view their personal stories progress a little more, which was a treat.

I was not sure what to expect, and was surprised a bit (though I know not why) that it is becoming clear all the books are linked and eventually will result in finding out the truth behind The Cure. The Cure is a mysterious medicine that heals those afflicted with the widespread epidemic that threatens the lives of all the stories players.

I liked this story, but I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as the first. I cannot really pin-point what was different. The only thing I can think, is that I just didn’t identify with the protagonist as strongly as I did with Siena, who was the protagonist in book 1. I think overall, I just liked her character better.

Regardless of my not identifying with Dazz as much as other characters, I will be sure to pick up the third book in the series and continue this journey. Estes is a solid writer, with a growing gift and I look forward to reading all the stories he has to share with us readers in the future.

If I have piqued your interest, you can find the book on Amazon for $4.99 in Kindle format or $12.99 in paperback.

Synopsis: Dazz, a hard-edged, fun-loving Icer, likes fighting, particularly while at his favorite watering hole. However, while recovering from a particularly bad break up, his decision to engage in a brutal pubroom brawl leads to a series of events that thrust him into a dark and mysterious scandal involving King Goff, the ice country ruler. When his seven-year-old sister is abducted in the dark of night, Dazz pledges to do whatever it takes to get her back, embarking on a quest that threatens to rip apart the very fabric that’s barely holding his shattered family together. Along the way he meets a group of unlikely allies in the form of a travelling group of fire country natives. Can Dazz, when joined with his best friend, Buff, and new tan-skinned friends, defeat the King and his guards before it’s too late for his sister?

CONNECT WITH DAVID

Website

Facebook

Goodreads

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

