Perihelion Magazine – This Long Vigil – Rhett C. Bruno

“Have you figured out the riddle yet, Orion?”

astronaut in space mission in the dark and spaceIf you are a Science Fiction fan and you enjoy a good short story, then Perihelion: Online Science Fiction Magazine might be up your alley.

I recently had the pleasure of reading one of the June issue stories, This Long Vigil, written by the familiar Rhett C. Bruno. I will admit, that at 10pm I was wiping my nose due to the fact I was starting to tear up. I was surprised at the amount of sensibility Bruno was able to capture in an 11 page story. Emotions run raw in this small tale, when the choice between duty and freedom collide. perihelion_juneA tale of a lone spaceman and his robot companion, as together they count the hours until his impending and unending hibernation. As a Sci-Fi writer, Bruno is making a name for himself and I look forward to the other stories he has yet to tell.

If this story is one to judge the rest by, then I believe Perihelion will prove to be an excellent read.

Check the magazine out here and be sure to read Bruno’s new story here.

 

THE MAN BEHIND THE STORY

brunorhettI’m a Sci-fi/Fantasy author currently living in White Plains, New York. I’ve been writing since I can remember, scribbling down what I thought were epic short stories when I was young to show to my friends and family. When I reached high school I decided to take that a step further and write my first novel. After the encouragement of my favorite English teacher I decided to self-publish the “Isinda Trilogy” so that the people closest to me could enjoy my early work.

While studying architecture at Syracuse University I continued to write as much as I could, but finding the time during the brutal curriculum proved difficult. It wasn’t until I was a senior that I decided to finally pursue my passion for Science Fiction. After rededicating myself to reading works of the Science Fiction author’s I always loved, (Frank Herbert, Timothy Zahn, Heinlein, etc.) I began writing “The Circuit: Executor Rising”, The first part of what I hope will be a successful Adult Science Fiction Series.

Since then I’ve been hired by an Architecture firm in Mount Kisco, NY. But that hasn’t stopped me from continuing to work on all of the countless stories bouncing around in my head. I’m also taking classes at the New School in NYC in order to earn a Certificate in Screenwriting, in the hopes of one day writing for TV or Video Games.

CONNECT WITH RHETT

Twitter

Website

Goodreads

Perihelion

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

 

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

