Forbidden Darkness – Alec John Belle

24391637“Taste the sarcasm when it’s poured on your tongue”- Forbidden Darkness, Alec John Belle

With the author being only 17, I was not sure what to expect from this when I cracked it open the other night. But after having read The Duff, which was written by a 19 year old, I’m starting to ignore age.

I’m glad I did.

While it is a quick read (only taking an evening to complete), I have to say I was completely engaged with it the entire night. I thoroughly enjoyed the tale of Heather Hawkins Monster Hunter. Anything that can include monsters and romance and I usually will be likely to pick it up. It reminded me of Buffy The Vampire Slayer before I even started. And that is not a bad thing. But I was thrilled that by the end, I found it to be a completely original and creative work of fiction.

Something that I was surprised at was the depth of the story. It wasn’t just about monsters and fighting those said monsters, it was about friendship, pain, suicide, homosexuality, being rejected. It brought me back to my own days during high school, where all of these were very real themes. Emotions run raw in the young and I felt Belle was really able to capture that vulnerability and internal suffering that occurs.

And of course, there was the steamy romance lingering to explode on the sidelines. I mean, yes please.

I should note that I read the first edition of the story and it is being re-released today for the second time. More editing has gone into it. Beyond that, I am not sure if much has been changed.

If you are interested in monster slaying and some drama, I think you might enjoy this story. You can find it on Amazon in Kindle for $2.99 and in paperback to be determined.

Synopsis: One girl. Four friends. Five days. A darkness that’s been forbidden for 5,000 years.

Heather Hawkins thought that everything in her life was normal. All her life, the most she had to worry about was getting good grades, being a good daughter, and helping her best friend Kristen through her depression. With three days until her sixteenth birthday, everything in her life is about to change when she discovers the terrible truth.

She’s a Monster Hunter and the lives of everyone she loves are about to be put in her hands.

After she learns that Kristen is a Monster Hunter, too, her training begins, but as a beginner, she isn’t allowed to fight Monsters–not yet anyway. But soon, something dark and sinister is going to take over the town, and with a mysterious guy haunting her dreams, a hot new trainer named Philip, and that fate of the world coming down on her, Heather wonders if she’s good enough to save her friends and family from the Monsters coming their way.

CONNECT WITH ALEC

Goodreads

Website

Blog

Facebook

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

