Girl’s Guide to Witchcraft: A Humorous Paranormal Romance – Mindy Klasky

guidewitchAt the urgings of my sister I picked up this little story about a lovestruck librarian who suddenly finds out she has magical capabilities. I especially wanted to read this because I also come from a library background and I love fantasy. I thought here is story perfect for me. Jane, the librarian is a likeable enough character, albeit somewhat naïve and at times immature on some levels. I would classify this as fantasy chick-lit. It was light to read, not very deep and the magic components were rather minimal. I thoroughly enjoyed the initial 3/4 of the story. I kept wanting to read until Jane suddenly began to irritate me with her annoying emphasis on repeatedly saying “my boyfriend.” You would have to read the story to understand exactly what I am referring to. Other than this one irritation, I did really enjoy the story. I don’t know if I will continue to read the series though. One was enough for me, but this has more to do with my growing awareness of not loving the chick-lit style than it has anything to do with the story.

If you like romantic-ish, magical-ish, light little snacks then I think you will enjoy this story about Jane, the librarian.

You can find the story on Amazon in Kindle for 99 cents or in paperback for $12.16.

 

Synopsis: In this humorous paranormal romance, Jane Madison has a problem. Or two. Or three. She’s unhappily working as a librarian. She has a crush on her oblivious Imaginary Boyfriend. And she just learned she won’t receive a well-deserved raise; instead, she can live for free in a cottage on the library grounds.

When Jane settles into her new home, she discovers a hidden chamber lined with ancient books about witchcraft. Her first spell awakens a feline familiar. Her second makes her irresistible to men. Those magical workings attract a sexy magical warder, and Jane’s life is quickly turned upside down.

Does Jane have what it takes to become a real witch? 

CONNECT WITH MINDY

Website

Goodreads

Amazon

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

