The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend – Kody Keplinger

DUFFI cracked this open around midnight the other night. I thought to myself I will just start it, maybe get a couple chapters in. Six hours later I finally shut it down, only because I had finished the book without ever stopping. I pulled an all-niter to finish it. It was that good.

I had flashbacks to high school as I turned the pages seeing myself in Bianca as she struggled with feeling like the “DUFF,” hiding her home issues from her friends, getting her heart broken and then finding love in unexpected places. For a young adult novel this was relatively deep. There was a surprising amount of sex, but tame and not terribly graphic. You can imagine my surprise at finding out the author was only 17 years old when she wrote this. A teenage prodigy writer who understood the population she was writing for.

If you ever felt like a “DUFF,” then I think you will find a familiar voice in this book. Keplinger is a fantastic writer and I am grateful she has become popular. I never would have learned about her otherwise.

If you feel like going back to high school with teenage rage and hormones, then you can find this on Amazon in Kindle for $2.99, in paperback for $7.65, or in audible for $14.95.

Also, obviously a movie has been made that is currently in theaters based on the book. I have not seen it yet, but I am sure going to now.

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, a biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush, who calls Bianca the Duff–the designated ugly fat friend–of her crew.

But things aren’t so great at home and Bianca, desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.Β 

CONNECT WITH KODY

Website

Goodreads

Amazon Profile

OWL Rating:owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

3 thoughts on “The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend – Kody Keplinger

    • I agree! I heard some people were disappointed in the ending. I can’t really think of a better one. I thought it was well done.

Leave a Reply

