I, Morgana – Felicity Pulman

ImorganaAs a huge King Arthur fan I was excited to find this new retelling just waiting to be read. Having never read anything by Pulman, I took a chance and was not disappointed. I grew to love Morgana in The Mists of Avalon, and I have found I lean towards positive portrayals of the villainized sister. Any story willing to tell Morgana’s side is always a welcome experience for me.

Throughout a good percentage of this story, I did not like Morgana. I was terrified that Pulman had created a monster portrayal of Morgana as a selfish, greedy, heartless brat. Luckily, Pulman allowed her character to grow and towards the end I saw redemption in her and adapted to this particular character rendition. I can’t say I loved this particular version of Morgana, but I felt it was an honest and possible explanation for how she came to be such a wounded soul.

In my opinion, the story flows like many similar King Arthur stories. Many acts we have read time and time again will appear in this story. Whether you have read The Mists of Avalon, Le Morte D’Arthur or watched the BBC TV show Merlin, there will be repeated scenes you have seen from many versions. The parts of the story Pulman took liberties with and attempted to make her own were aspects that allowed for open interpretation. I found the romance especially a unique twist that Pulman created.

I read this story in three days, which these days is pretty quick for me. If I read a book that fast it can only mean it brought me enjoyment to engage with. If you are a King Arthur legend enthusiast then I recommend this book.

You can find it on Amazon in Kindle for $5.24 or in paperback for $16.19.

Synopsis: After being schooled in magic by Merlin and promised a kingdom, Morgana is robbed of her birthright and betrayed by everyone she has ever trusted. Risking everything for revenge, Morgana uses her magical arts to trap Merlin, threaten her half-brother King Arthur, and turn away the only man she will ever love. In destroying King Arthur and Camelot, Morgana sets into motion a catastrophe that can only be reversed if she can learn from the past in time to protect our future … and so fulfill an ancient prophecy.

In the tradition of The Mists of Avalon comes a new story of Morgan le Fay, one of the most enigmatic-and reviled-characters in Arthurian legend.

CONNECT WITH FELICITY

Website

Goodreads

OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

