The Griffin Mage – Rachel Neumeier

griffinI have a pile of books waiting to be read that could reach my ceiling, but I decided since this came from a personal recommendation I could squeeze one more in. Indeed, I thoroughly enjoyed the tale of griffins made of fire, and earth mages that burn with chilly fingers. I loved how each book centered around a different character and felt pulled in more each time I moved on to the next chapter.

The trilogy is an ongoing tale and should be read as one entire book. Characters from the first book come back in the second and third. You may loathe a character in book one and then find come book two they are not as bad as you thought. The way Neumeier shows us all the sides of many of her characters was in my opinion masterful. The good, the bad, and the ugly come out. But in the end you love them all because just like normal people they have many layers.

The magic system was unique and original and I enjoyed seeing how she twisted it. I cried with Mienthe, worried over Gereint, and even struggled with my love/hate of Kes.

My only gripe is where is the map? Epic fantasy needs a map and my edition did not have one, which was disappointing. I like to trace the journey and know exactly to which country a character is traveling to. In addition, in the first couple books the romance is very subtle to a point it almost feels like an afterthought. There was not much steam before the fire, and fire is not really what happened either. Therefore, I could have used more feelings expressed between the characters.

Other than those two issues, I have nothing but praise for this story. I would enjoy reading more from this author in the future and hope to stumble on more of her work.

You can find the book on Amazon in Kindle $8.89 or in paperback for $11.41.

Synopsis: The Griffin Mage trilogy, now complete in one volume, tells the story of the war between men and griffins — and the young girl, torn between two worlds, who will decide the fate of all.

Little ever happens in the quiet villages of peaceful Feierabiand. The course of Kes’ life seems set: she’ll grow up to be an herb-woman and healer for the village of Minas Ford, never quite fitting in but always more or less accepted. And she’s content with that path — or she thinks she is.

Until the day the griffins come down from the mountains, bringing with them the fiery wind of their desert and a desperate need for a healer. But what the griffins need is a healer who is not quite human… or a healer who can be made into something not quite human.

This omnibus edition contains the complete Griffin Mage trilogy: Lord of the Changing Wind, Land of the Burning Sands and Law of the Broken Earth.



OWL Rating: owl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white backgroundowl isolated on white background

This entry was posted by thruthewords.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: