Guest Post w/ Rachel Carrington


ExtremeMeasures 453x680(1)“Four years ago Erin’s life changed drastically. Her drug-addicted brother killed her parents, and her marriage disintegrated. Her husband, Matt, an FBI agent, had done his duty when he’d arrested Stuart, but she’d been too caught up in her own grief to allow him to help her move through the shadows of pain.

Now Matt is back, but it isn’t to attempt reconciliation. Her brother has escaped from Attica, and Erin is his next target. Matt will stop Stuart by any means necessary. But Stuart is a desperate man, and desperate men will do anything to get what they want.

Thrown together by treacherous circumstances, Matt and Erin fight a battle to stay alive and possibly figure out how to put the pieces of their destroyed lives back together again.” — Extreme Measures

The above description is from romantic suspense novelist Rachel Carrington’s latest book, Extreme Measures.  In a guest post, Rachel tells us a little about what it’s like to be inside the mind of a killer, and why it is she can still sleep at night. Given my own propensity to imagine myself in terrifying circumstances, I don’t know if I could. Extreme Measures can be found on Amazon in Kindle format for $1.99-KMM

Writing Killers

Sometimes my imagination scares me. It’s a little too easy for me to crawl into the mind of an imaginary killer and him/her come alive for my books. I can make him/her as dangerous and evil as anyone you’d see in a horror movie. But I still sleep at night.

How is it that a relatively normal writer (I say relatively because we all have our own definition of normal) can create such vile people without losing sleep? I believe it’s because I can separate the fiction of my characters from the reality of their existence, and I know what’s coming to them.

Unfortunately, the types of characters I write exist in some form in the real world, and they don’t always get the justice they deserve. In my books, they do. No matter how evil I write them, they are going to pay for their crimes in the end. And I wish my fictional endings could be reality.

I think it’s easier for me to ratchet up the villain’s nastiness because then I can give them a better unhappily ever after. It all makes sense in my somewhat normal mind. — Rachel Carrington

Black_and_WhiteAbout the Author:

I started writing years ago, and my first attempt was a contemporary romance that will never see the light of day. I think I may even have thrown it away by now. It was absolutely horrific as I knew nothing about well…anything to do with writing.

After that, I started writing fantasy romances about wizards and wizards, and once those took off, I segued to paranormal romances (hello, vampires and ghosts) and romantic suspense. I also write articles for various magazines, including The Writer’s Journal, Writer’s Magazine, Writer’s Weekly, Writing for Dollars, Absolute Write, and Funds for Writers.

I’m fortunate to make my home in historical Charleston, South Carolina. Beautiful city. Beautiful people. When I’m not writing, I love to read, create videos, keep Target in business, play visitor in my city, and drink lots of coffee.

Connect with Rachel:

Website: www.dawnrachel.com

Twitter: @rcarrington2004

Facebook: rachelcarringtonwrites

Pinterest: rcarrington2004

Goodreads: rcarrington2004

Wattpad: http://wattpad.com/RachelCarrington

This entry was posted by cellardoorbooks.

Leave a Reply

