The Watchtower — Lee Carroll

This sequel to Lee Carroll’s “Black Swan Rising,” follows New York City jewelery designer Garet James on her quest to find Will Hughes, her steamy vampire love interest. After defeating the evil John Dee in the first book, Hughes absconded with the powerful silver box in pursuit of humanity. Believing he has left behind clues to his whereabouts, Garet pursues him to Paris in hopes that she will find the entrance to the Summer Land. On her journey, she meets otherworldly character’s from her mother’s past, and finds herself going deeper into the world of Fae.

Alternating chapters take the reader back to the beginning of Hughes’ journey, and how he came to first love Garet’s Fae ancestor, Marguerite. Although the historical origins of the story are told in detail, this second novel failed to keep me as compelled as the first. But that’s not to say I didn’t read it fairly quickly. I did.  I was still rather dedicated to the story line of star-crossed lovers and elements of fairy. Although I would probably read the last book just because I started the first two, the ending leaves the reader needing more. It’s a fairly well crafted cliffhanger that made me want to find out what will happen in the third installment.

No word yet that I can find on when the third book is coming out or what it’s called. I’ll keep checking back and will update when I find out. If anyone has heard anything, please drop me a line. In the meantime, you can find “The Watchtower” for as low as $4.99 on Amazon.

This entry was posted by cellardoorbooks.

Leave a Reply

